Motion: 50 Years of the Robertson Trust

50 Years of the Robertson Trust
That the Parliament notes the publication of a report marking the 50th anniversary of the Robertson Trust; understands that the trust, which was established in 1961 by Elspeth, Agnes and Ethel Robertson, is the largest independent grant-making trust in Scotland; notes that, since its inception, it has awarded approximately £125 million to charitable projects across Scotland; understands that it prioritises care, health, education and training and community art and sport projects; welcomes the trust’s funding of 112 projects in the Highlands and Islands over the last year, which, it understands, totalled £1.3 million; recognises that recipients of funding from the trust include Caberfeidh Horizons, which is a second-hand bookshop in Kingussie that provides training and work experience to young adults with learning disabilities, Orkney Alcohol Counselling Services, which provides support to people affected by alcohol misuse and Atlantis Leisure, which is a community-run sports facility in Oban, and applauds what it sees as the trust’s enduring commitment to helping those in most need of support in the current economic climate

Supported by: Mike MacKenzie, John Finnie, Clare Adamson, Kevin Stewart, Jamie McGrigor, Margaret Burgess, Angus MacDonald, Adam Ingram, Liz Smith, Humza Yousaf, John Wilson, Jackie Baillie, Stuart McMillan, Kenneth Gibson, Nanette Milne, Gordon MacDonald, Hugh Henry, Bill Kidd, Joan McAlpine, Fiona McLeod, Rob Gibson, Bob Doris, Mary Scanlon, David Stewart, Roderick Campbell, Willie Coffey, Colin Keir, Sandra White, Christina McKelvie, Anne McTaggart, Colin Beattie, Joe FitzPatrick, David Torrance, Gil Paterson, Annabelle Ewing, Stewart Maxwell, Aileen McLeod, Richard Simpson, Dennis Robertson, Jamie Hepburn, Nigel Don, Chic Brodie, Dave Thompson, Maureen Watt