Motion: BBC’s Crime Drama, Shetland

BBC’s Crime Drama, Shetland
That the Parliament welcomes the decision of BBC One to commission a two-part crime drama, Shetland, based on the murder mystery novels of Ann Cleeves; understands that the drama has been adapted for the small screen by David Kane, who has also worked on other Scottish crime story adaptations, namely Taggart and Rebus; considers the production to be an excellent opportunity to showcase Shetland’s natural landscape; further considers the dramatisation to be a potential boost to the local economy; urges the production team to use as many local people and businesses as possible in the process of filming; believes that the commission will highlight Scotland and Shetland’s strong cultural heritage, and looks forward to watching the drama later in 2012.

Supported by: Mary Scanlon, Joe FitzPatrick, Rob Gibson, John Finnie, Adam Ingram, Annabelle Ewing, John Mason, Joan McAlpine, Humza Yousaf, Drew Smith, Kevin Stewart, Anne McTaggart, David Torrance, Mike MacKenzie, Margaret Burgess, Jamie McGrigor, Bill Kidd, Dennis Robertson, Jamie Hepburn, Dave Thompson, Colin Beattie, Gil Paterson, Sandra White, Rhoda Grant, David Stewart, Willie Coffey, Angus MacDonald, Stewart Maxwell