New Working Group Established in Parliament

Jean Urquhart MSP has reached an agreement with the two Green Party MSPs, Patrick Harvie and Alison Johnstone, and Independent MSPs Margo MacDonald and John Finnie to establish a working group under the Parliament’s Standing Orders.

This grouping will give the MSPs representation on the Parliamentary Bureau which decides Parliamentary business, in turn providing the MSPs with further opportunities to contribute to debates in the Chamber.

The Independent/Green Group agreed this statement:

“The five of us have discussed ways in which we can work together, and after taking advice from colleagues on our options, have decided to form a grouping to enhance our ability to represent our constituents.

“Although every member of our grouping is pro-independence and believes strongly in a more equal, sustainable Scotland, it is by no means a formal, party-based arrangement; no MSP has changed, or plans on changing, their party affiliation or on taking positions different to those they have taken in the past.

“We all look forward to pushing for an independent, fair and peaceful Scotland both inside and outside of Parliament, and to working with MSPs across the Chamber to achieve these goals.”

One thought on “New Working Group Established in Parliament

  1. angloscot November 22, 2012 / 4:56 pm

    This seems very undemocratic. I voted SNP on the regional vote, and I’ve ended up with a green independent MSP instead of an SNP MSP. Shouldn’t you resign and allow a replacement SNP member from the regional list take your seat in Parliament to represent my vote?

Comments are closed.