Motion: Hansel of Film 2012, From Shetland to Southampton and Back

Hansel of Film 2012, Shetland to Southampton and Back
That the Parliament acknowledges the opening of the Hansel of Film 2012, a UK-wide relay stretching from Shetland to Southampton of screenings of short films as part of the London 2012 Festival, in Shetland on 10 June; understands that the films will be relayed between participating venues by runners who must use any method of transport available to get the films to the next scheduled venue on time; commends Shetland Arts on its initiative in putting together a successful bid to secure funding for what it considers this innovative project;  welcomes the extensive and positive publicity for the Shetland arts community on the Hansel of Film’s official website, which, it considers, accurately describes the vibrant cultural life of the islands, and considers the diversity of festivals held in Shetland, covering all walks of cultural life and strands of music to be a leading example for Scotland.

Supported by: Bill Kidd, Humza Yousaf, Rob Gibson, Annabelle Ewing, Sandra White, Jamie McGrigor, John Finnie, Mike MacKenzie, Joan McAlpine, Anne McTaggart, Stuart McMillan, Richard Lyle, Chic Brodie, Tavish Scott, Margaret Burgess, Colin Beattie, Gordon MacDonald, Aileen McLeod, Angus MacDonald, Dennis Robertson, David Torrance, Graeme Dey, Kevin Stewart, John Wilson, Roderick Campbell, James Dornan, Sarah Boyack, Adam Ingram, Gil Paterson, Jamie Hepburn, David Stewart, Rhoda Grant, Stewart Maxwell, Maureen Watt

Motion: Edinburgh International Film Festival

Edinburgh International Film Festival
That the Parliament understands that the Edinburgh International Film Festival commences on 20 June 2012 and runs until 1 July; congratulates the festival on reaching its 66th year; notes the diversity of films from both new and established talents being screened; welcomes the European premiere of Disney/Pixar’s Brave, a fantasy adventure movie set in mediaeval Scotland and featuring Scottish actors such as Kelly Macdonald and Kevin McKidd, taking place on 30 June; appreciates the benefits that the festival brings culturally by using talent development programmes and interaction with local schools to build experience and interest in careers in film, and considers the festival to be a staple in the Scottish cultural calendar that draws positive international attention and an event that deserves its international plaudits.

Supported by: Liam McArthur, Joan McAlpine, John Finnie, Gordon MacDonald, David Torrance, Kenneth Gibson, Annabelle Ewing, Colin Beattie, Adam Ingram, Rob Gibson, Margaret Burgess, Nanette Milne, Tavish Scott, Roderick Campbell, Bill Kidd, Humza Yousaf, Patricia Ferguson, Jamie McGrigor, Sandra White, John Mason, Maureen Watt, Richard Lyle, Fiona McLeod, Gil Paterson, Mike MacKenzie, Jim Eadie, Aileen McLeod, Colin Keir, Joe FitzPatrick, Willie Coffey, Richard Simpson, Dennis Robertson, Angus MacDonald, Marco Biagi, Paul Wheelhouse, Chic Brodie, Kevin Stewart, Nigel Don, Jamie Hepburn, Rhoda Grant, Stewart Maxwell