motion: Mallachy Tallack, New Writer Award Winner

Title: Mallachy Tallack, New Writer Award Winner

Motion Text:
That the Parliament congratulates Mallachy Tallack on winning a 2014 Scottish Book Trust new writer award; understands that Mallachy is one of 11 winners chosen from over 300 entries by a panel, which included Jen Hadfield, Doug Johnston, Jenni Fagan, Keith Gray and the Scots Makar, Liz Lochhead; recognises that he has put his writing skills to use as a journalist for the Shetland Times and writes music, fiction and non-fiction; notes that Mallachy’s recent project, the non-fiction book, Sixty Degrees North, focuses on communities that are 60 degrees north of the equator, such as Shetland; believes that the award, which includes mentoring from writers and industry professionals, a week-long retreat to Helensburgh and a cash sum, is invaluable to writers and will provide time, space and support to help them to develop their craft, and looks forward to continuing to read the work of Mallachy and the other winners.