Press Release: Jean Urquhart MSP Urges Community Groups to Apply for Funding (June 20th)

Jean Urquhart has encouraged local community groups throughout the Highlands and Islands to apply for the latest round of People’s Postcode Trust funding. The Trust funds small, community-based projects across the UK, with £4.1 million allocated to 748 projects since it was established in 2009.

Jean Urquhart, a Highlands and Islands SNP MSP, said:

“In these tough economic times, funding from the third sector can make the difference for the numerous community projects that run in the Highlands and Islands and indeed for the people that benefit from them.

“The focus of the People’s Postcode Trust on granting sums of £500-£10,000 to small, local projects undoubtedly affords groups across the Highlands and Islands a fantastic opportunity to secure funding that will allow them continue their invaluable work across the community.

“I would urge any community project in the area to apply during the next funding round, which runs from July 9th– August 24th.”

Press Release: Highlands and Islands MSP Highlights Funding Opportunities (June 7th)

SNP Highlands and Islands MSP Jean Urquhart today highlighted the establishment of a one-off funding programme aimed at enabling people to learn more about their local heritage.

All Our Stories, a programme instigated by the Heritage Lottery Fund, is offering grants of between £3,000 and £10,000 to new projects that are expected to promote heritage-related activities in local areas across the UK.

Jean Urquhart MSP has urged local groups to consider applying for grants, stating:

“Every corner of Scotland has a rich and vibrant history spanning centuries. As a Member of the Education and Culture Committee, I am aware of how our collective history can enrich the present, and help to bring communities together.”

“I would encourage any community group currently investigating heritage projects to apply before the July 31 deadline, and to help bring their projects to fruition. With funding on offer, the benefits for all parts of the community from these potential projects are too good to miss.”

Motion: 50 Years of the Robertson Trust

50 Years of the Robertson Trust
That the Parliament notes the publication of a report marking the 50th anniversary of the Robertson Trust; understands that the trust, which was established in 1961 by Elspeth, Agnes and Ethel Robertson, is the largest independent grant-making trust in Scotland; notes that, since its inception, it has awarded approximately £125 million to charitable projects across Scotland; understands that it prioritises care, health, education and training and community art and sport projects; welcomes the trust’s funding of 112 projects in the Highlands and Islands over the last year, which, it understands, totalled £1.3 million; recognises that recipients of funding from the trust include Caberfeidh Horizons, which is a second-hand bookshop in Kingussie that provides training and work experience to young adults with learning disabilities, Orkney Alcohol Counselling Services, which provides support to people affected by alcohol misuse and Atlantis Leisure, which is a community-run sports facility in Oban, and applauds what it sees as the trust’s enduring commitment to helping those in most need of support in the current economic climate

Supported by: Mike MacKenzie, John Finnie, Clare Adamson, Kevin Stewart, Jamie McGrigor, Margaret Burgess, Angus MacDonald, Adam Ingram, Liz Smith, Humza Yousaf, John Wilson, Jackie Baillie, Stuart McMillan, Kenneth Gibson, Nanette Milne, Gordon MacDonald, Hugh Henry, Bill Kidd, Joan McAlpine, Fiona McLeod, Rob Gibson, Bob Doris, Mary Scanlon, David Stewart, Roderick Campbell, Willie Coffey, Colin Keir, Sandra White, Christina McKelvie, Anne McTaggart, Colin Beattie, Joe FitzPatrick, David Torrance, Gil Paterson, Annabelle Ewing, Stewart Maxwell, Aileen McLeod, Richard Simpson, Dennis Robertson, Jamie Hepburn, Nigel Don, Chic Brodie, Dave Thompson, Maureen Watt